Why is my tax bill so high?
- The amount of tax you owe each year is based on the value of the vehicles you owned on January 1 of that year. The value of each vehicle is determined by the Buchanan County Assessor using a standard rate book. The assessed value of each vehicle can be found on your statement.
Why am I being taxed for a vehicle I no longer own?
- The amount of tax you owe is based on the vehicles you owned on January 1 of that year. Regardless of whether you no longer own those vehicles or have purchased new vehicles, your tax is based on what vehicles you owned on January 1.
May I pay my personal and real estate taxes with one check?
- Yes, but make sure to add them correctly and send the exact amount due. The Collector's office cannot accept payments for the wrong amount.
How do I avoid paying late fees?
- Please be sure that your payment is postmarked no late than December 31. Payments postmarked after December 31 will be returned unless late fees are included.
Do I owe taxes although I am no longer a Missouri resident?
- Yes. By state law, your tax obligation is established on January 1. Even if you move out-of-state the next day, you are still obligated to pay Missouri taxes for the year. State law makes no provision for prorating your tax bill.
Who pays the tax bill if I get a divorce?
- The tax responsibility goes to the owner of record on January 1. If property is jointly owned, and the court order dissolving the marriage does not address the tax liability, both parties are jointly responsible for taxes. Neither party can obtain a statement of no taxes due until the tax liability is satisfied.
I need to license a car not included on my paid tax receipt. What do I do?
- If you purchased your car after January 1, use last year’s receipt. Property taxes are not owed on the new vehicle until you owned it on January 1. If you owned the vehicle on January 1 and it is not listed or is incorrect on your receipt, please contact the Assessor’s office.
I have lost my personal property tax receipt, how do I obtain a duplicate?
- A duplicate paid personal property tax receipt may be obtained from the Collector"s office for a fee of $1.00.
Collector of Revenue
|Contact This Office:
Phone: (816) 271-1401
Fax: (816) 271-1584
To look up tax information or make a payment on line please use this link: http://buchananmo.devnetwedge.com/
If you choose to pay your taxes at this site, please be aware of the fact that you will incur a convenience fee. The Buchanan County Collector's office does not charge or retain any of the transaction fee. Your paid receipt will be mailed to you in 3 to 5 business days.